Veleia is an archeological site not far form Ecotourism Podere Borgo di Vigoleno®, a perfect daily trip from a tour that can start from Castell’Arquato across the woods of Parco Provinciale: a little hidden gem waiting to be discovered.
The Roman city of Veleia was founded in 158 BC an the name of a city that comes from Veleiates, cited as a Ligurian population in the Naturalis Historia by Pliny the Elder. The city disappeared without a trace in the third century and its location remained forgotten for centuries. By chance, in 1747, the Tabula Alimentaria Traianea emerged in the area near the church; after that finding, systematic excavations began that unearthed the structure of the ancient city.
The period of greatest economic and social development was due to the Augustan age, as evidenced by the many inscriptions and the series of statues of the Julio-Claudian family of the basilica, on display in the Archaeological Museum of Parma.
The town was also very popular for its spa waters derived from bromoiodiche, frequent throughout the low hill areas.
From the III century AD on, the crisis is clear: life in the city continued until the V century AD at least. The end of Veleia can be placed in the general trend of depopulation of that time, after the fall of the Western Roman Empire, when a lot of Italian cities were abandoned.
On the site you can visit the ruins of ancient Veleia, the church devoted to Saint-Anthony, the Museum of Veleia that represents the most significant moment in the history of Veleia: its ligurian origins, the building of the most valuable public monuments, the furniture of private houses and the objects of everyday life, the gladiator combats and the funerary rites.
The area is open during summer season from 9.00 am to 6.30 pm, closed on Monday. The entrance is € 2.00 adults, € 1,00 children, free the first Sunday of every month.